Local Athletes Receive Athena Award

Local Athletes Receive Athena Award Click to Enlarge Photo: KNSI Sports

(KNSI) – St. Cloud Area and other Central Minnesota athletes were honored with the Athena Award at the River’s Edge Convention Center in St. Cloud.

According to the Central Minnesota Athena Awards press release on the District 742 website, the award is geared towards special athletes.

“The Central Minnesota Athena Awards are designed to recognize exceptional female athletes from school districts across our region.”

Emcee of the event was Associate Director of the MSHSL, Lisa Lissimore and she thought the area represented the award quite well.

“I think [St. Cloud] is right on track with what [they’re] doing here, I think this is really an incredible event, the music, everything [St. Cloud] has done mirrors to some degree what has been happening in Minneapolis since 1976.”

Keynote speaker for the event was head coach for the Minnesota Gophers basketball team Lindsay Whalen.

Whalen highlighted key moments in her illustrious career and started her message to everyone with what was most important for getting herself to where she is now.

“The biggest thing has been surrounding myself with really good people and then working hard and being ready for my opportunity.”

“You don’t know when you’re opportunity is going to come but if you’re ready and you’re around good people, good things can happen.”

Among the 13 honorees, the St. Cloud area was represented by Brooke Walters of Sartell, Lariah Washington of Apollo, Meya Washington of Tech and Megan Voit of Cathedral.

Lariah Washington was excited to share the honor with the other recipients from St. Cloud.

“It’s really cool to be up there with all the other girls, I see them work hard and I know we all work hard together and it’s just cool to be surrounded with great other athletes.”

Walters had a message of her own for other athletes that may want to achieve what she has in her career.

“Good things come from those who work hard, I would tell them to just keep working hard and they’ll get rewarded for it.”

Other recipients rewarded for their hard work at the 2019 Central Minnesota Athena Awards were:

• McKenzie Duwenhoegger - Alexandria

• Olivia King - Brainerd

• Jessica Milstroh - Foley

• Elizabeth Wortz - Hutchinson

• Brook Carney - Moorhead

• Jenna Carlson - Royalton

• Reece Ritter – Sauk Centre

• Emma Lezer – St. Michael-Albertville

• Emily Beseman - Swanville

Leave a comment