Schools Awarded Mental Health Funding

Schools Awarded Mental Health Funding Click to Enlarge Photo: KNSI News

(KNSI) - The state of Minnesota awarded numerous area schools millions of dollars in mental health funding.

The Minnesota Department of Human Services has awarded 57 mental health providers a total of $33 million - $11 million per year for three years - to bring mental health services to over half of Minnesota schools.

“These grants will help us provide needed services to those in need, which is good for parents and kids,” said Minnesota Department of Human Services Commissioner Emily Piper.

The DHS says the School-Linked Mental Health Program began in 2006.

According to the DHS, in the past five years, 15,000 students received mental health services from 953 programs throughout 287 school districts across the state.

Schools that received grants: Apollo High School

Clearview Elementary School

Discovery Community Elementary School

Kennedy Community School

Madison Elementary

North Junior High School

Oak Hill Community Elementary

Oak Ridge Elementary

Pine Meadow Elementary

Pleasant View Elementary

Sartell Middle and High School

Sauk Rapids-Rice Middle and High School

South Junior High School

St. Cloud Area Learning Center

St. Cloud Tech High School

Talahi Community Elementary

Westwood Elementary