Let The Madness Begin

Let The Madness Begin Click to Enlarge Photo: David Mark from Pixabay

(KNSI) - Whether one gets into college basketball or not, many will fill out a NCAA Tournament bracket sheet.

Play-in-games have to be played in order for the final 64-team bracket to be complete but "Selection Sunday" commenced and the bracket has been printed.

Prairie View A&M will face-off against Fairleigh Dickinson 5:40 p.m. tonight and Temple will face Belmont at 8:10 p.m.

On Wednesday March 20th, North Carolina Central will play North Dakota State University at 5:40 p.m. for the right to face number-one-overall seeded Duke.

Duke and their star, Zion Wiliiamson are the odds-on-favorite to win the tournament as they are currently 2-1 favorites in most Vegas sports books.

The final play-in game will be between St. John's and Arizona State at 8:10 p.m. for the right to play Buffalo as an 11-seed.

Since the NCAA Tournament Committee elected to have the four play-in games, at least one of the victorious teams have won their first tournament game every year.

From now until the opening game at 11:15 Thursday morning, people of all ages will attempt to win their office or friend pool of some sort.

Richard Pitino and the 10-seeded University of Minnesota Golden Gophers will play the first game in the field-of-64 Thursday, March 21st at 11:15 a.m. against his father's former team, Louisville.

If the Gophers plan on pulling off the minor upset, they will have to play much more consistently than they have through the season and Amir Coffee will have to carry the team much like he did in the Big Ten Conference Tournament.

The selection committee chose three teams from the Athletic Coast Conference (ACC) as number-one-seeds in Duke, North Carolina and Virginia; Gonzaga was the final number-one-seed.

Other Big Ten Conference teams selected were Michigan State, Michigan, Purdue, Wisconsin, Maryland, Ohio State and Iowa.

Tournament play will start this week and continue until the Final-Four is played at US Bank Stadium in Minneapolis on Saturday March 6th; the Championship is on Monday, April 8th.

Leave a comment