New SCSU Hockey Coach

New SCSU Hockey Coach Click to Enlarge Photo: St. Cloud State University

(KNSI) - St. Cloud State University has announced the new head coach of the men's hockey team.

Below is the full news release from the university on the hiring of Brett Larson.

St. Cloud State University Director of Athletics Heather Weems has announced the appointment of Brett Larson as the new head coach of the Huskies Men's Hockey program.

Larson joins the staff at St. Cloud State with a decorated college hockey coaching resume that includes helping lead NCHC rival Minnesota Duluth to one of its most successful runs in the history of that program - including two NCAA championships.

"Brett is a tremendously talented coach and has played a significant role in the success of the University of Minnesota Duluth's men's hockey program," said Heather Weems, St. Cloud State Director of Athletics.

"As an assistant coach during both of UMD's National Championships, and with a stop at Ohio State University during their program's elevation, Coach Larson has proven himself a top recruiter and helped to develop multiple players during their collegiate careers and as they advance to the next level of play.”

Larson is the third coach at St. Cloud State in the history of the University's NCAA Division I men's hockey program, and SCSU's 17th head coach since the program started intercollegiate play in 1931-32.

"I am thrilled to welcome Coach Larson to the St. Cloud State community and look forward to seeing men's Huskies Hockey continue its tradition of excellence under his leadership," said Interim President Ashish Vaidya. "This is yet another reason to be excited as the University enters its sesquicentennial year of celebration in the fall."

Larson will take over a program at St. Cloud State University that was led by Coach Bob Motzko for 13 seasons. The Huskies have positioned themselves among the best NCAA Division I programs in the nation and in 2017-18, SCSU won the National Collegiate Hockey Conference regular season championships for the second time since 2014.

Leave a comment